PDA

View Full Version : Some Newbie Questions

Big J Money
11-07-2005, 04:56
Hey, I'm new to this game. I've played the demo for several hours (until it kicks me!) a few times, and I'm waiting for the game to arrive in the mail, now. Here are some things I couldn't figure out in the in-game help:

1) Is a large population useful for anything other than training large armies?

2) I noticed that villages have two kinds of icons. Little and big ones. The Big ones are the base production, and the little ones are bonuses from buildings, etc. Well, later in my game, I noticed that in my main province, all the big village icons doubled! I couldn't figure out what caused this. I'd really like to know.

3) I built a lot of special seige defenses and a garrison in my city, but the AI never assaults my walls. Is this because it's the demo? Also, I don't seem to have the option to assault enemy castles either. Now, since I am not allowed to build seige weapons in the demo, this isn't so bad, but I'm wondering if I'll get the option in the full game?

3b) I'm also confused about how seiges work. Does my castle provide "attrition" to the enemy forces while they are seiging me? Is there a way for me to sally out and attack them if I hire a marshall at that city? Or, can I take an army from nearby and attack the besiegers? Can I lead this battle myself?

4) I tried to get into position to attack someone crossing a river, but this seems almost impossible! Is there a trick to this?

5) What happens if I run my ship into an enemy ship? Will the armies fight like pirates? Lol.

6) Is there a way to take command of a battle if you've already chosen not to from the start? Like, if I attack someone with my army, choose not to lead, and then attack them with a second army. Now I want to lead it.

7) Is there a way to see what buildings or garrison are in an enemy city?